top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMarisa Perry

"Embrace the Chaos"

So, I wouldn’t say things have necessarily fallen into place the last couple of days, but it hasn’t been completely the worst either. Classes have been going well. Most of my professors are American except for 2, which is kindof comforting. Just makes it feel a little more like home. It is so hard to understand the others but again, makes me put myself in international students shoes when they come to the States. I can’t imagine how confused they are, especially because they don’t even speak English most of the time. The Apartment on the other hand... is falling apart. My roommates closet door fell off, our curtain rod is literally hanging by a thread on one side (the other side already fell off the wall pulling the mount off and everything), our washer tore EVERY single thing that was in it, our shower head fell off, the knob fell off from the shower, AND to top it off, I almost (almost) set the entire kitchen on fire just trying to cook chicken. We are thriving over here. We were also supposed to have a cleaning lady twice a week, but have not seen said cleaning lady yet. It quite honestly feels like I’m living in a pit, but makes me appreciate home that much more (and makes me miss home that much more.

Yes, I am VERY homesick. It is such a weird feeling. I love my classes, and i feel much better when I am in class, but as soon as I’m back at the apartment it sucks. A lot. But, I know this is temporary. There is a start, and there is an end to the time I get in Italy. I’m sure December will come in no time.

I am on my way to Florence right now. We were going to leave at 1:45 pm and missed our bus by 3 minutes. They move “pronto” here. So we got on a train about 2 hours later which probably has much better views, and is much more comfortable I’d assume. It is absolutely beautiful. The mountains are larger than I could have ever imagined, and there are actually vineyards everywhere. Side note: yes, Mom, it looks just like letters to Juliet!

We are staying in Florence tonight and tomorrow, and then heading to cinque terre along the coast on Saturday on our way back to Rome. Spending the day at the beach on Saturday, and then going back to Rome Sunday. I’m excited to get away for the weekend already, and especially away from my apartment. Praying that everything will be fixed by the time we all get back though



The mountains from the train to Florence


  • Another side note. On the train, I began thinking how beautiful “simple” is. I passed by houses in the middle of mountains. Surrounded by fields of wheat and trees, and just more and more houses pretty much stacked on top of one another. It made me think about how weird it would be for us to not have what we have. A gym? Probably don’t have that. A mall? Nope. Starbucks? There’s no way. And especially no air conditioning. We passed my a “hospital” that said “diagnostica centrale” with ambulances outside. I immediately compared it to the hospitals I’m (unfortunately) used to. How luxurious they seem compared to this. I never once have feared for my life walking into a hospital or doctors office at home because I know we have the technology and medical advancements for quite possibly everything. But here? A cold could potentially be hard to cure. Anyway, It appears they live so simple, but yet are so content. Although they probably don’t know any life but this one, I’m in awe of just how little you actually need to survive.

I will post pictures of the train ride, and trip to Florence when I get back.

Love to all!

Marisa

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page