top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMarisa Perry

From Home to Rome


Managed to pack under 100 pounds worth of clothes, shoes, etc.

Benvenuto!

So I figured instead of flooding my facebook regarding how life is going in Rome, I will make a blog so those who want to read it, can.

Day 1-4 have been pretty crazy to say the least. After arriving in Rome, I stayed at a hotel near the airport because Marquette got the dates mixed up, so we couldn't move into our apartments yet. I had an 8 hour flight, 2 hour layover in London, and a 3 hour flight to Rome, and was BEYOND exhausted (and starving) upon arrival. I somehow managed to only take an hour nap even after being awake for 36 hours. I had my first "real" pizza, and met some of the other Marquette students who were also staying at the hotel. Rome is unreal. You can be walking down a super modern street with restaurants everywhere, and then BOOM you see the Colosseum.

Day 2:

We got packed up and met John Cabot faculty, the university I am studying at, at the airport where we would be shuttled to campus. Move in day was super stressful because we were 1. Jet lagged, 2. Had no clue where we were living or who we would be living with, and 3. Hotter than heck. My place happened to be one of the nicer ones, with a beautiful courtyard in the middle of the apartments. I have 1 roommate who I know from Marquette, and 5 other girls in the other rooms. We finished our crazy day with wine and pasta that puts Maggianos, and frankly any pasta place that I've ever had, to shame (see pictures), and got laughed at by our waiter because of my poor Italian speaking. I love how families start their meals at 9:30, and literally go all out. Appetizers, 1st course, 2nd, dessert, etc. It's also so cool how people walk everywhere. Yes, people drive, and they drive worse than Chicago drivers, but most are always walking. I walked 14.5 miles, and 35,800 steps in one day!

Day 3-4:

Orientation has been super fun, but exhausting. I have met people from all over the world. China, London, Milan, tons from California, and lots from the east coast. All of the staff at JCU has been more than welcoming, making sure we all know what we have next on our schedules, and where to go, how to get there. The Italian students are leading orientation, and it has been so eye opening being the one that is the "international student". Coming from Michigan State and Marquette, being around tons of international students, it is a different feeling being in their place, and makes me feel even more compassionate toward what they go through on the daily basis. Walking around hearing a language besides english is confusing. You don't know what they're talking about. Asking for directions is scary because you don't know if they speak english, and can't understand them if they do. Everything is unfamiliar. What would normally be a 10 minute trip to the grocery store ended up taking an hour because labels are all in Italian, the milk isn't in the refrigerator (neither are eggs), and oatmeal is not even called "oatmeal". Also, I forgot my own bags and the cashier just looked at me when I asked for one and started talking to the other cashier in Italian (pro tip: bring your own bags to stores so they don't hate you!). Overall, it has been an enlightening experience so far. I can't wait til I'm a little more adjusted, and not sleep deprived, and to get into a routine.

I did a Rome tour today also, so I will post pictures with descriptions from that!

Ciao!


Marisa







My pizza from the first night. It was HUGE

Dinner the first night

The bread is unreal

Fettuccine alla bolognese

Do I look like a tourist yet?

86 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


reenie410
Sep 01, 2018

Melissa you are adorable and adventuresome! So excited for you. 🤗

Like

deecurns
Aug 31, 2018

Fascinating! Thanks for sharing. Enjoy and appreciate.

Like
bottom of page