top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMarisa Perry

Slowing Down The Pace


I know, how exciting!

Hello!

It's been a little bit since I've updated everyone (not really but it feels long). Probably just because I don't want to bore you guys with my pretty uneventful weekend, BUT I do want to give y'all a glimpse into what my life actually looks like, despite all of my crazy pictures!


So, after pretty much a month of consistent weekend traveling, I really needed a weekend to just lay low in Rome.The weather has been gorgeous. However, I really am missing the typical fall weather everyone is experiencing at home. Despite the hot weather, the Italians actually dress as if it is 50 degrees... Don't recommend wearing a sweater and jeans in 80 degree weather even if that's what the Romans do.

This past week I had my first exams in Social Psychology and Health Psychology, as well as a project to start, so the hiatus was much needed! On Friday, I finally got to sleep in instead of waking up at the crack of dawn to catch a plane, train, or automobile. I had a nice, leisurely morning, accompanied by some oatmeal pancakes :) I went for a 7 mile run around Rome, and came across this HUGE church? Anyone know what it is? Let me know ;)


Vaticano

Had to get the pancakes in here. Want the recipe? 1/2 cup of oats (you can blend them so they are finer if you'd like) 1 egg, 1 banana mashed, a splash of almond/soy/coconut/cows milk, and cinnamon!

Made eggplant on my own for the first time on Sunday! Paired with peppers, spinach, quinoa, and zucchini

Pro Tip: Running long distance around here is so easy to do because the sites are so beautiful; however, don't plan on just a straight shot. I think the NFL needs to have their teams learn how to dodge by simply running down the sidewalks in Rome (it is QUITE the task, let me tell ya).

Anyway, I pretty much spent my weekend catching up on sleep, running past some unreal views, coffee, and some pretty tasty food. Friday night I went to dinner with my Marquette crew: my roommate Abbey, and our friend Neil. It is nice having at least 2 people here from my school. 'Twas full of good conversation, company, and cuisine.


Bruschetta (hey, I finally eat tomatoes!)

I don't remember what it was, but it was SO good

Of course, Tiramisu (my favorite!)

By Sunday, Rome was feeling quite lonely. All of my roommates were gone except 2 of us, and all of my friends from my classes were either at 1. Oktoberfest, or 2. Munich. Monday never felt so good, honestly. I was ready for the week to pick up, and especially to get my first exams over with.


Exams are... interesting here. Personally, I haven't taken such an easy test probably since high school (shoutout to Marquette Biomedical Science!). The questions were so straight forward, and there were only 25 questions on each exam versus the 70-100 that I am used to. Let's hope the other 2 that I have next week are the same way!


I also did a cooking class on Tuesday with my flatmate Marley, and our friends Ben and Scott. This is my second one, and I absolutely love the instructors! They are two sisters whose family has owned the restaurant since 1929. They are only open for lunch, because they host private events, and cooking classes in the evening. I can't wait to try the restaurant one day during normal hours :) We made eggplant parmesan, pesto from scratch, orecchiette noodles from scratch, and then Panna cotta. We all get to eat together in the wine cellar once it is all done!



Entoca Corsi!

Orecchiette (they're supposed to resemble ears)

Finished product

I have been letting myself settle in a little more. Partially because I think I'm realizing just how soon I'll be back in Chicago, and also, how soon my parents will be here (20 days!). There have been rough days here and there, and days where I feel like I'm 110% at rock bottom, but it helps realizing that this is the way it's going to be, and to allow the good days to outweigh the bad.


My typical breakfast: Overnight oats with an iced cappuccino

Quick cappuccino stop before class

As for travels, I am leaving October fairly open, because November is completely booked, and would like to enjoy some time in Rome. I have a few day trips planned for October. Tomorrow, I am leaving for Verona, just for the night, with one of my friends that I met in Prague. I am planning on going to a Chocolate Fest through my school in Perugia, Italy on the 19th, and my parents and I are going to Tuscany on the 25th!

Very excited for the months to come, and have been feeling the love and prayers. Please, keep them coming for the remaining 60 days I have left in Roma :)


Also, another thank you to everyone who has reached out to me. Again, I can't explain how much I love seeing a familiar name pop up on my phone, and hearing about your lives. It helps me feel "in the loop".


Love you guys!


Marisa

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page